IDLES sodium

IDLES Release Sodium, A Dark Sound for Dark Nights: Death Metal Soundtrack

IDLES release a new song today, “Sodium”, which features on the Dark Nights: Death Metal Soundtrack for the DC Comic of the same name. The soundtrack’s digital release is this Friday, June 18th, via Loma Vista Recordings (physical LPs out July 16th).

It’s the first new material from the Bristol band, which isn’t a cover, since last years number one album Ultra Mono, and the sound is absolutely filthy. That brutal bassline, those belting drums, those screeching guitars, then Joe Talbot’s voice which is surprisingly — for a track this dark — a lot less shouty than we’re used to. The man is steadily becoming the Frank Sinatra of our generation; with some “Na na na na’s” for good measure, of course. It would be rude not to. If this sound is the direction IDLES are going to take for album four then we are seriously in for a treat. Some might say I’m a bit excited.

Have a listen to this beautiful beast here:

Just as the lauded DC Comics Dark Nights: Death Metal series isn’t the typical superhero storyline, this musical counterpart isn’t the typical superhero soundtrack. Acclaimed composer Bates here unites an array of artists across various genres—including HEALTH & Tyler Bates (feat. Chino Moreno) Soccer Mommy, Chelsea Wolfe, Grey Daze, Denzel Curry, and Manchester Orchestra—forming his own musical super crew to create a first-of-its-kind companion piece of original music, which adds a further dimension to the acclaimed series from Greg Capullo and Scott Snyder through a multimedia experience including custom limited edition comics, videos, and more. 

All artists involved took a hands-on approach with Dark Nights: Death Metal Soundtrack, contributing songs—and in the case of a few, collaborating for the first time—inspired by the text that depicts a hellish Earth twisted beyond recognition, wherein the Justice League is at the mercy of the Dark Multiverse and a diabolical Batman Who Laughs. 

Previous Dark Nights: Death Metal Soundtrack singles include: Manchester Orchestra’s “Never Ending,” Denzel Curry’s “Bad Luck,” Chelsea Wolfe’s “Diana,” Maria Brink’s “Meet Me In The Fire (Feat. Andy Biersack),” and Mastodon’s “Forged By Neron.” The soundtrack is available for pre-order on digital download, CD, and 2xLP-with exclusive Superman, Wonder Woman, and Batman vinyl variant covers, 11 limited edition character trading cards, and more HERE

Read more about the Dark Nights: Death Metal Soundtrack at the official bio HERE