Dehd Announce Flower Of Devotion Remixed and North American Tour

dehd flowers of devotion remixed

Last summer, Chicago-based band Dehd released Flower of Devotion, “an effortless, elegantly rumpled strain of indie rock”, via Fire Talk. The album was welcomed with open arms by fans and critics alike. Today, they announce Flower of Devotion Remixed, out September 17th, and a North American tour. In conjunction, they share one of its tracks, “Flying – Physical Medium Remix.” The remix album sees Dehd surrounded by a myriad of close collaborators (Lala Lala, Protomartyr, Freak Heat Waves, and more). It points a shining spotlight on the Chicago music scene the band still calls home, staying true to the trio’s earnest melodies while creating an amorphous blend of experimentation in mutated indie pop that feels like a personal mixtape for the friends that know them best.

The first single, “Flying – Physical Medium Remix,” was completed before the remix record was even conceived. “I’d like to give Physical Medium a special shout out for planting the seed and really opening my eyes and ears to the world of remixing,” says Jason Balla. “Their passion for it has been infectious.”

“What I love about dance music is that it exists to put my body into motion,” Balla continues. “It can do so many things that a normal song can’t because of its humble mission: keep the asses shaking. Dance music is just plain fun. In this spirit, we invited 14 friends to chop up Flower of Devotion and put it back together as they saw fit. No rules, no guidelines. The songs went all over the place and it was really amazing to hear songs I knew so well become something new altogether. Hearing one of our voices or a guitar line in a new context really showed me how much room as a band we have to explore. It’s already impacted how we approach writing at practice, figuring out the basics and then asking ‘now what?’”

This fall, Dehd will tour across North America, including a hometown appearance at Pitchfork Music Festival with an adjacent aftershow. Following, they’ll support Julien Baker on tour. Tickets are on sale now. 

Pre-order Flower of Devotion Remixed

Flower of Devotion Remixed Tracklist

1.Flying – Physical Medium Remix
2. Disappear – 03sem Remix
3. Loner – Protomartyr Remix
4. Apart – Accessory Remix
5. Drip Drop – Freak Heat Waves Remix
6. Flood – 100% Cement Remix
7. Haha – Rxm Reality Remix
8. Letter – Sunglow Remix
9. Desire – Lala Lala Remix
10. Month – In The New Age: Scott Monroe Remix
11. No Time – Dom Rabalais Remix
12. Moonlight – Lionlimb Remix
13. Nobody – Miranda Winters Remix

dehd flower of devotion remixed cover

Dehd Tour Dates

Fri. Sept. 10 – Chicago, IL @ Pitchfork Music Festival
Sat. Sept. 11 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle
Sat. Sept. 18 – St. Augustine, FL @ Sing Out Loud Festival
Fri. Oct.1 – Milwaukee, WI @ Cactus Club
Sun. Oct. 3 – Detroit, MI @ El Club
Mon. Oct. 4 – Toronto, ON @ The Baby G
Wed. Oct. 6 – Montreal, QC @ L’esco
Thu. Oct. 7 – Brooklyn, NY @ Market Hotel
Fri. Oct. 8 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s
Sat. Oct. 9 – Peekskill, NY @ First River Festival
Wed. Oct. 27 – Austin, TX @ Stubb’s Waller Creek Amphitheatre *
Thu. Oct. 28 – Dallas, TX @ Granada Theater *
Fri. Oct. 29 – Houston, TX @ The Heights Theater *
Sat. Oct. 30 – San Antonio, TX @ Paper Tiger *
Mon. Nov. 1 – Phoenix, AX @ The Van Buren *
Tue. Nov. 2 – San Diego, CA @ The Observatory North Park *
Wed. Nov. 3 – Los Angeles, CA @ Zebulon
Thu. Nov. 4 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Wiltern Theatre *
Sat. Nov. 6 – Oakland, LA @ Fox Theater *
Mon. Nov. 8 – Portland, OR @ Aladdin Theater * – SOLD OUT
Tue. Nov. 9 – Vancouver, BC @ Hollywood Theatre *
Wed. Nov. 10 – Seattle, WA @ Moore Theatre *
Fri. Nov. 12 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The Complex *
Sat. Nov. 13 – Englewood, CO @ The Gothic Theatre *
Mon. Nov. 15 – Lawrence, KS @ The Granada *
Tue. Nov. 16 – St. Louis, MO @ Delmar Hall *

*= supporting Julien Baker

One thought on “Dehd Announce Flower Of Devotion Remixed and North American Tour

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: