Get Ready for the Geese Debut Album ‘Projector’ Out Oct 29

Geese are a band that begins and ends in Brooklyn, as a project between friends to build a home studio out of a basement. Their debut album Projector (out via Partisan/Play It Again Sam digitally on Oct 29th, and then on LP/CD/CAS on Dec 3) is born from the same ambition: make music by any means necessary. The album’s nine songs merge all the restless anxiety and pent-up frustration of trying to figure out life at 18 with a wall-of-sound immediacy and looseness. Equal parts headphones and dancefloor. Curiously alien, yet strangely familiar.

The band says of “Low Era”: We had been trying to get everything to sound super heavy, creepy-crawly, and complicated, really because that’s all we knew how to do. Four-on-the-floor songs like “Low Era” had felt a little like poison to us for a while, until we consciously tried to challenge ourselves to write something more danceable. Once we stopped enforcing certain boundaries, it ended up working out without us expecting it to, and even ushered in this psychedelic 3-D element that ends up appearing throughout the album.

We like the idea of confusing the listener a little, and trying to make every song a counteraction to the last, pinballing between catchy and complicated, fast and slow. “Low Era” is one end of that spectrum, and ultimately broadened the scope of songs we thought we could make.

Projector was written, produced, and recorded by Geese during their junior and senior years of high school at their home studio (a space they lovingly dub ‘The Nest’). Singer Cameron Winter would write each song, and then the band – guitarist Gus Green, guitarist Foster Hudson, bassist Dom DiGesu, and drummer Max Bassin – would learn, practice, and record all in the time between the end of school and their hard 10 pm cutoff when (in true NYC fashion) the neighbours would start complaining. Projector was mixed by Dan Carey (Squid, black midi, Fontaines D.C.). The band previously shared Projector highlight “Disco,” which earned critical acclaim. Listen HERE.

Geese will headline Elsewhere (Zone 1) in Brooklyn on August 27th, and will also play Shaky Knees Festival in Atlanta in October and Desert Daze in November. Tickets and more info HERE.

‘Projector’ tracklist:

1. Rain Dance
2. Low Era
3. Fantasies / Survival
4. First World Warrior
5. Disco
6. Projector
7. Exploding House
8. Bottle
9. Opportunity is Knocking
Geese Projector album cover
%d bloggers like this: